Did this content meet your expectations?
Home>Concert Review>
Death Wish Blues Tour Takes No Prisoners

Death Wish Blues is the first collaborative album from Samantha Fish and Jesse Dayton; produced by Jon Spencer at his Applehead Recording Studio in Woodstock, New York. Jesse Dayton has worked with Waylon Jennings, Johnny Cash, Willie Nelson and Kris Kristofferson. The album pushes the boundaries of blues music filled with explosive, yet elegant, guitar work.

The night began with opening act and New Orleans-based guitarist/singer/songwriter Eric Johanson playing songs off his newly released album, The Deep And The Dirty, produced by Jesse Dayton. Songs included "Nowhere to Go," "Don't Hold Back" and "Burn it Down." Eric Johanson displayed a multi-dimensional blues/alt/rock style that definitely captured the audience's attention.

After a short break, Samantha Fish and Jesse Dayton took the stage, opening with "Kick Out the Jams" (MC5 cover) leading into "Deathwish," the title song from their new album. Between playing some of their favorite covers, including "Feels So Good," "Brand New Cadillac" and fan favorite "I Put A Spell On You," the band performed all 12 songs off the new album. "Down In The Mud," "No Apology," "Trauma," "Dangerous People," "Rippin' And Runnin'," and "Lover On The Side," were heartily received by the crowd.

There was an amazing chemistry between Fish and Dayton on stage with the two trading off licks during their almost two-hour show. At the midpoint of the show, Samantha Fish picked up her acoustic guitar for the song "I'll Be Here In The Morning" (Townes van Zandt cover), but due to technical issues she to had to switch back to her electric guitar. She jokingly told the audience, "I'll try to play softly," as she smiled before they began playing.

Samantha Fish went through a plethora of finely tuned guitars throughout the evening including her White Gibson SG, Fender Blacktop, Fender Jaquar, Gibson Firebird and her signature Stogie Cigar Box Guitar for the song "Bulletproof (Tangle Eye Mix)."

Samantha Fish and Jesse Dayton came back on stage with opening act Eric Johanson for two encore songs - "Know My Heart" off the new album and "Goin' Down South" (R. L. Burnside cover.) The band members then grouped together taking a bow to the audience. Samantha Fish then passed out a few guitar picks to the audience before leaving the stage.

The Death Wish Blues tour at the Tower Theater brought the explosive and raw guitar power of Samantha Fish and Jesse Dayton. Fish's elegant, but gut-punching vocals were on point all night. If anyone in the audience wasn't a huge fan before the show, they quickly became one. Be on the lookout for the Death Wish Blues Tour as it continues this summer.

Samantha Fish
Next Show
Jesse Dayton
Next Show
Eric Johanson
Next Show
Author & Photographer: Vernon L. Gowdy, III
The JAM Newsletter